The Department of Labour administers the following Acts: the Department of Labour Act; the Factory, Shop and Office Building Act; the Steam Boiler Act; the Operating Engineers Act; the Building Trades Protection Act; the Employment Agencies Act; the Apprenticeship Act; the Regulations respecting the Protection of Persons Working in Compressed Air; the Regulations respecting the Protection of Persons Working in Tunnels and Open Caissons, Coffer Dams, and Crib Work; the Minimum Wage Act, 1937; the Industrial Standards Act; the One Day's Rest in Seven Act; the Government Contracts Hours and Wages Act; and the Workmen's Compensation Act.

The Minimum Wage Act, 1937, revises the former Minimum Wage Act as it applies to female workers and extends the scope of the Act to include male employees. Pursuant to an amendment to the Department of Labour Act, the Industry and Labour Board was established in 1937. It consists of three members, one of whom is chairman and all of whom are officers of the Department of Labour. One member is a woman. The Board has power to administer the provisions of any Act assigned to it, and the Minimum Wage Act, 1937, the Apprenticeship Act, and the Industrial Standards Act have been assigned for administrative purposes.

The Department is required to maintain employment offices, to collect information respecting employment, sanitary and other conditions in work places, wages and hours of work, and to study labour legislation in other parts of the British Empire and in foreign countries, as well as any suggested changes in the labour laws of Ontario. The representatives of the Department of Labour have right of access to offices, factories, and other work places at any reasonable hour, and may be authorized to hold inquiries under the Public Inquiries Act. The Department publishes annual reports which cover the work of the officers employed in the administration of the various Acts assigned to it.

The Manitoba Department of Labour.—The Act of 1915, establishing the Manitoba Bureau of Labour, provided that it be attached to the Department of Public Works; an amendment of 1922, however, provided for its attachment to any other Department as the Lieutenant-Governor in Council may determine. The Bureau was created a separate Department by c. 28 of the Statutes of Manitoba, 1931, but the Act was not proclaimed until July 6, 1934.

The Department is charged with the administration of the following Acts: the Bureau of Labour Act; the Manitoba Factories Act; the Bake Shop Act; the Shops Regulation Act; the Minimum Wage Act; the Elevator and Hoist Act; the Steam Boiler Act; the Building Trades Protection Act; the Public Buildings Act; the Fair Wage Act; the Electricians' Licence Act; the Amusements Act (Secs. 11 to 15); the One Day's Rest in Seven Act; the Employment Bureau Act; the Strikes and Lockouts Prevention Act.

The Bureau of Labour and Fires Prevention Branch is a sub-department of the Department of Labour (formerly a sub-department of the Department of Public Works). The Bureau also enforces the Fires Prevention Act.

The Saskatchewan Bureau of Labour and Public Welfare.—This Bureau was created by an Act of 1934. It is administered by the Minister of Municipal Affairs, assisted by a permanent Commissioner. The function of the Bureau is to administer the following Acts: the Factories Act; the Building Trades Protection Act; the Employment Agencies Act; the One Day's Rest in Seven Act; the Weekly Half-Holiday Act; the Minimum Wage Act; the Workmen's Wage Act; the Trade Union Associations Act; and the Industrial Standards Act. It is also charged